Campbell Law School

Campbell Law News

2017  Ι  2016  Ι  2015  Ι  2014  Ι  2013  Ι  2012  Ι  2011  Ι  MEDIA INQUIRIES
May 23, 2013
Shores Selected for Top Gun National Mock Trial Competition

RALEIGH, N.C. - Campbell Law Class of 2013 graduate Andrew Shores has been selected as one of 16 participants for Baylor Law School’s 2013 Top Gun National Mock Trial Competition, June 6-9 in Waco, Texas.

The innovative, invitation-only mock trial tournament takes advocates from 16 of the top advocacy schools in the nation and has them go head-to-head for the honor of being named Top Gun. The first-place winner receives $10,000.

“I am thrilled to be representing Campbell Law at this prestigious trial competition, and I am grateful for the opportunity to compete against the very best advocates in the country,” said Shores.

Founded in 2010, the competition creates a challenging atmosphere for competitors. Unlike other mock trial competitions, participants do not receive the case file until they arrive in Waco — just 24 hours before the first round of trials begin.

Preparation includes reviewing depositions, records and photographs, and taking a trip to the actual places where events in the hypothetical case occurred. Shortly before each round, competitors are assigned a witness or witnesses who may be used at participants’ discretion during the round. The jurors for each round are distinguished trial lawyers and judges.

The National Top Gun Mock Trial Competition is limited to 16 law schools with a single student, instead of the usual two, representing each school. Baylor Law, as the organizing institution, does not field a team.

The 2013 Top Gun National Mock Trial Competition student advocates are:
John Paul Cedillo — Thurgood Marshall School of Law, Texas Southern University
Joseph Darwal — University of Akron School of Law
Michael Ditore — Loyola University of Chicago School of Law
Kaitlyn Flynn — Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University
James Fogg — University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Robert Gardner — Washington University School of Law
William Gower III — Stetson University College of Law
Stephen Green — The University of Texas School of Law
Lars Hulsebus — Georgetown University Law Center
Marissa Oxman — University of California-Irvine School of Law
Valerie Raedy — Chicago-Kent College of Law
Jennifer Reynolds — Samford University, Cumberland School of Law
Andrew Shores — Campbell Law School
Daniel Theveny — Temple University Beasley School of Law
Collin Tierney — University of California-Berkeley School of Law
Austin Ward — Pepperdine University School of Law


Since its founding in 1976, the Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law at Campbell University has developed lawyers who possess moral conviction, social compassion and professional competence, and who view the law as a calling to serve others. The school has been recognized by the American Bar Association (ABA) as having the nation’s top Professionalism Program and by the American Academy of Trial Lawyers for having the nation’s best Trial Advocacy Program. Campbell Law boasts more than 3,400 alumni, including more than 2,400 who reside and work in North Carolina. For 26 years, Campbell Law’s overall record of success on the North Carolina Bar Exam has been unsurpassed by any other North Carolina law school. In September 2009, Campbell Law relocated to a state-of-the-art building in downtown Raleigh. For more information, visit



Back ►